Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different opinions that the government should pay tutor fees for students whose majors are needed by society. Additionally, those whose majors are less relevant should not receive government funding. In my view, I do not believe the advantages of the educational policy outweigh the disadvantages, I will discuss the reasons for this viewpoint in this essay. Firstly, the main advantage is government funds should be used in areas that are more prioritized and useful to the residents. For example, like public transportation systems, water conservancy facilities electrical facilities et cetera, those facilities have a more direct impact on people's daily lives. Government should spend expenditure on those policies to increase people's welfare significantly, however, students should pay their own tuition fees instead. Secondly, despite these advantages, the funding supported by the government would be abused by students. For instance, In Taiwan, we have a college major that is government -paid for students, and after students graduate, they need to work for a government institution. The government provides tuition and jobs that will make the students who do not know what their passion is, they will apply for this major, but that would occupy the opportunities which students have passion for, or the students really need the funding for study. Therefore, the funding in specialized subjects will let students not choose other subjects which do not have support from the government, and abuse would be a problem resulting in unfairness to students. In conclusion, the government spending money on livelihood facilities would enhance people's living quality, meanwhile, students paying their own university fees would not result in all students applying for the major which has been supported, which could avoid the abuse and the cause of students who are really interested not being able to apply for the faculties they want.