Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often said that it is more vital to use the money on motorways and roads, rather than on vehicles for the public like trams and railways. This writer believes that it is crucial to improve public transport rather than the roads due to the reason of environment and prices, despite who thinks that the motorways can be convenient. It must be understood that public transportation plays a vital role in protecting the environment. In other words, there are some trams and subways in some developed countries are run by electricity so that they can avoid emitting pollutants into the environment. Take Japan as an example, they have invented many subways which use electricity to run, as a consequence, Japan is one of the countries which own the cleanest air in the globe. Thus, the public traffic can be friendly to the environment. However, some people argue that private transportation running on roads can be more convenient. This may be true, but many governments are now building an effective public traffic system to serve their citizens. As a consequence, using private vehicles now is not as effective as public in some places. Thus, using modern public vehicles can minimize the inconvenience of travel One more part worth considering is that the prices of public services are much cheaper than private ones. This means that with just only 1 ticket per person, they can travel all the routes that the vehicles contain. This is more effective compared to the price to run their own vehicles by gasoline. For example, in Vietnam, with only 7000 dongs (approximately 0,28 dollars), the residents in Ho Chi Minh City can travel around some centre wards in this city, much cheaper than running on the same route with private transportation. If this situation continues, private traffic will be less beneficial in prices than public ones. In conclusion, using public services is more eco-friendly and cost-effective than private ones, although it brings inconvenience to the citizens compared to private vehicles. Furthermore, it is more crucial to use the fund on public transport systems than motorways and roads.