Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Classes focused on art like painting and drawing, are just as crucial for children’s growth as other subjects, therefore they ought to be mandatory in high school. The author of this essay agrees with this viewpoint. On the one hand, art classes foster creativity and innovation, which are essential skills for success in various fields. Encouraging students to think outside the box and express themselves creatively can lead to innovative solutions in both their personal and professional lives. Through art, student learn to express and understand emotions, developing empathy and emotional intelligence. These skills are crucial for building healthy relationships and negating complex social situations. For instance, at math requires students help develop mental agility while drawing and painting require creativity and intelligence and hand-eye coordination which are important for overall physical development, especially in younger children. However, some parents may prioritize academic subjects over the arts, believing that a strong foundation in math, science and language arts is more important for their child’s future success. They may prefer schools to focus resources and efforts on improving performance in core subjects. Besides, students who are passionate about art can pursue it outside of school through extracurricular activities, community programs or private lessons. Making art compulsory in schools could limit flexibility for students to explore other interest or talents outside of the classroom. In conclusion, the consistent stance is that while art subjects are as important as other subjects, schools should not compel students to study them.