In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some countries, it is often said investing big amount of money in building new rapid railway lines for among cities is very important. The alternative view is the budget should be used for upgrading the existing public transportation. In my opinion, Jakarta citizen is highly dependent to existing public transport, hence I strongly agree the money would be beneficial to refine current public transport. Existing public transportation in Jakarta is serving intercity and outer city route. Many employees are live outside Jakarta, this phenomenon makes the citizen is highly relies to the affordable public transportation. Furthermore, most of them are spending about 3 hours a day to commute from their house to their office. This issue need a solution from the government. For instance, provide additional bus with shorter waiting time, it would bring positive response from the community. In addition, this option will require less governmental expense. Travelers among cities is now have plenty options of public transport. However, many people are curious and hoping the government would make a new railway lines for travel from city to city with rapid train. This option could give advantage by promoting tourism in other cities. Though, the ticket price is impossible to be cheap and the cost of construction will be very high. Moreover, it will cause a pain for livelihood around the construction site. In my observation, building a new train track will spend at least 2 years until it is official. Along these 2 years, many family will be disrupted by the construction activity, such as high air pollution and ground shaking. Not to mention high investment involved in the preliminary study until the operation. In conclusion, although each alternatives has advantage and disadvantage, I am firmly believe spent more money in making the existing public transportation better is more preferable to accommodate more individuals pain points.