You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Rapid expansion of internet has made newspaper thing of past as mobiles and computers has replaced hard copies. I totally agree with this notion because news and current affairs are readily available to the citizens. For decades, newspapers were the major source of of giving updates about sports and current affairs to the populace, however, with rise of mobile phones and internet, downfall of this mode of news was seen. Earlier, people have to wait for newspapers till early morning whereas now updated and recent news are just one click away from them, making easy and convient for readers. For example, I use to read newspaper in my childhood but now my favourite newspaper got its own news website and is available 24 hours. Social media has contributed a lot in decline of newspapers by certain ways. In this era, its easy to find out the trending global news, moreover, these social media platforms are accessible free of cost. For instance, X (Formerly known as Twitter) which is free and is without any subscription got updated trending chart in its feed, which assist reader to match the pace of trending news either it is political or sports. In conclusion, I would reiterate that rise of social media and internet has made newspapers thing of past because these plateforms keep readers and users up to date whereas for newspapers people have to wait 24 hours.