In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

As the question mentions, people are increasingly more aware of the history of architecture in their own countries. There are mainly two reasons for this in my opinion. Firstly, simply for fun. And secondly, it is useful to gain a new idea for pursuing more comfortable lives. For example, in Japan, the traditional wooden house which can let the wind come in and out for a whole year and also can be shaken without folding down when the earthquake hits because the wooden structure has a little space each other, suitable to most Japanese seasons and small earthquakes are frequent. In summer, the wind from outside would cool down inside the house, and in winter, our ancestors would get a heat from a fire place so changing the air in the house was necessary. Like this, just knowing the reasons for the structure provokes some kind of joy and pride in our heart. Next, knowing the history of building such as shrines in Japan is very important for many people in the view of evacuation. For hundreds and thousands of years, Japanese shrines have been built on the hill or mountainous area with their gates called “Torii” usually standing at the point which the tsunami caused a huge casualty had reached in the past. In lots of rural areas within Japan, people are still told by their grandparents, “When the earthquake comes, you should go up the mountain as soon as possible and keep in hurry until you get into the Shrine.” Those stories are very common in Japan and I think countries with a long history should keep those ascended words and important buildings. Finally, the ways to seek information on the traditional architectures should be both visiting the exhibitions or museums and ask directly elderlies around you. Those are the fastest ways to know the truth and to foster and renew community relations.