Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing medicines intended for human use. Others, however, think it is cruel and unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over the necessity of conducting experiments on animals. While some claim that those tests are vital for the sake of humans, the opposite makes a statement that they should be prohibited. While the latter notion is valid to some extent, I consider myself a proponent of the former one. Without a shadow of a doubt, animals act as indispensable subjects for scientific research to contribute to people ’s well-being. This is due to the fact that there are no better substitutions for animals since they have a close resemblance and cell structures to humans. Therefore, their responses to external disturbances are likely to be the same as people do. To be more specific, by observing the express of animals such as pains, stress and reproductivity when they interact with chemical substances, the scientists can predict the detrimental effects of drugs and products before selling them in the market. Hence, it is crucial to implement medical testings on animals in order to ensure people ’s health. While the need for doing experiments on animals is widely acknowledged, people have an obligation to reduce their suffering in those hazardous programmes. This could be because a wealth of companies are abusing animal testing to diversify their commodities for commercial purposes while they can be avoided. For example, thousands of rabbits living in several cosmetic laboratories in the US are going through destitute conditions and diseases everyday. To deal with this severe problem people should boycott cosmetic products of the firms that make use of animals as experiments’ subjects. As a result, if the number of demands declines, there will be fewer slaughtered animals. Thus, people also have a responsibility to curb scientific testing on animals. In conclusion, although animals can be seen as a resource for the benefits of humans, the damage they take should be adjusted to the minimal level.