Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing medicines intended for human use. Others, however, think it is cruel and unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the fact that animal-based testing has long been the centre of criticism. In my opinion, while the former is valid to some extent, I would slightly consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, experiments on animals for testing medicines are necessary for the sake of people. This could be because animals are not equivalent to humans, even though they bear a close resemblance to people, either in behavior or in cell structures. Specifically, there are some sentiments that people know about themselves such as pain, stress, reproduction as well as nutrition are based on animal-based experiments. Furthermore, one of the main approaches of the test is to predict the risk of drugs or other products on animals, before applying them to humans. Therefore, almost animal-based testing is implemented for the development of a medical field. While the justification given for vivisection is widely acknowledged, researchers have the obligation to reduce animal testing and animal suffering. Particularly, there are several aspects that explain why people should not abuse animal-based experiments such as growing recognition. While animals are used mostly for commercial objectives, most of them are evitable. On the other hand, some people exploit animals experimentation for diversifying their cosmetic products and expanding their profits, which is not only waste a wealth of expenditure but also more and more livestocks are slaugtered. Hence, scientists should know how to carry out those animal-based experiments wisely in order to reduce animal testing and suffering. In conclusion, one can subscribe to the notion that animals can be taken as potential resources for the well-being of humans, especially in medication, although it is certain that suffering can be monitored to the lowest.