In many countries,there is a growing gap between the technical skills of younger people and those over the age of fifty. What problems does this cause, and what solutions could minimise the problems?

Evidence suggests that all over the world, the wast majority of elderlies are not able to work with new technological progresses as much as younger generation. Although there are specific root causes behind this phenomenon, effective solutions can be adopted to remedy this situation. There are two main reasons why older generation is not skillful to use new technical devices. Firstly, they ar not educated enough. That is, literacy is the main factor which contribute in the ability to underestand the electronical advanceses. For instance, going to school and college have just become widespread in recent decades and before this most of the public was deprived to learn to read or write. Secondly, science has experienced a rapid growth recently and as a direct result, it is youngesters who are engage in it every day not older people. Take work places as an example; new devices such as computer based softwares are needed in work places and employees have to learn about them in order to take account for their jobs though it is not the case for elderlies who are already retired. There are, however, some steps can be taken to help people who are over than 50 years old to increase their productivity encounter new progresses in technology. One step would be imroving their abilities by helding suitable classes for these age groups. It would be a great opportunity to be among their peers with out loosing their self-steem and learn about technology. a good illustration of this is classes which is held in developed countries such as Eroupean countries where old people gather together and a qualified teacher teachs teach them about their cell phones and laptops. Another viable alternative is to encourage them to be engaged in the new technologies. The more they have to work with these devices, the more it gets easy to cope with. For example, their children may buy them smart phones and tablets and ask them to make video calls or make researches in the internet and teach them patiently. To conclude, the disability of elder generation in working with new gadgets is because of many reasons, the most important of which is the illiteracy. In spite of all contributing factors, proper education can reduce severity of this issue considerably.