Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few are of the opinion that the Government is accountable for the rise in obesity among children while others contradict the above statement and say parents are to be blamed for their kid's weight gain. However, my opinion is divided. I believe that both parties are equally responsible for this phenomenon. I will explain my reasoning in the following passages. To embark on, the main reason why people tend to assume that public authorities are answerable to the increase in child obesity is because the Food and Beverage departments are the ones that give permission to leading food companies to produce high-fat and sugar-content junk foods. If they could restrict the production of chips, biscuits, sodas and other harmful foods young adults would have fewer opportunities to consume them, thus, resulting in normal weight. Despite knowing that they contain bad ingredients, people in power have allowed them to sell their goods. For example, a Study conducted by the Obesity Clinic in Ohio revealed that 87% of snack products in supermarkets contain harmful chemicals. Even though they claim they are healthy, the ingredients tell otherwise and the food departments are reluctant to take any action against these organizations. On the other hand, some blame parents because they are the ones who buy processed food for their offspring. Because packaged food contains additives they are addictive in nature hence, children crave more of these foods. In order to satisfy their prodigy's needs and happiness, mothers end up buying them these products. In addition, another prominent reason why parents buy these nibbles is, that they are not aware of the ingredients. Due to the attractive packaging and false advertisement, they believe that these foods are good for their child's health. Therefore, they should educate themselves and always read the ingredients that are written on the back of the packaging, this way they can reduce the consumption of unhealthy foods. To exemplify, the Food supermarket conducted a survey to see how many people looked behind the package, it turned out only 12% of the shoppers actually went through the raw products. To conclude, not one person can take the blame. Both the Government and Adults need to work hand in hand and be vigilant of what is put out on the shelves of departmental stores and should prevent youngsters from eating foods that contain chemicals.