Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the availability and accessibility of information have become a debated topic. On the one hand, the more information is shared the more benefits different areas, such as science, business and education get. On the other hand, certain information might be too significant or too precious to be communicated freely. (49) Freely sharing information can contribute to achieving better results in fields which work with big data. Cooperation and exchange of knowledge will increase the range of evidence and culminate in more accurate results. For instance, huge progress in cancer cure was noted, after the worldwide database was created. Another example can be found in the business area. The company where I work constantly provides information to the Central Bureau of Statistics, to support reliable sources for business or academic analyses. (81) However, some information might be too sensitive to share for free. There can be several reasons, such as the high cost of data creation or the harmful consequences of its worldwide spread. For instance, data collection can be the core business of the company, so in order to ensure its existence the information should be evaluated and sold or protected by patent. Even though everything has its price, some information should remain hidden, such as Coca-Cola recipe, to protect the brand, as well as the uranium enrichment formula, to protect the world. (91) I tend to agree that sharing some but not all knowledge can be useful. Furthermore, not all the information should be free of charge and available to everyone. I have learned that attitude to information can be subjective and so do usage. For example, knowledge about atomic power can be used both for energy creation and for weapons. (58) In conclusion, while sharing information can greatly benefit society, it is crucial to manage access carefully to prevent misuse or unforeseen negative consequences. Selective sharing ensures that both progress and security are maintained. (33)