In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some children are advised to devote themselves as much as possible so that they can attain their goals. This essay will suggest that a growth mindset and increased motivation are the biggest advantages of this, but disillusionment with truth and disregard for external factors are the primary disadvantages. The main advantages of encouraging minors to attempt to accomplish their objectives are cognitive development and enhanced determination. The belief that there are limitless possibilities allows minors not only to take on new experiences but also to view challenges as opportunities for self-improvement and self-exploration, which is of fundamental importance to their mindset. Furthermore, words of encouragement do instil great resolution and confidence in juveniles so that they can recover more quickly after failure. For example, teenagers who engage in skateboarding and are often taught to get up after they fall show stronger perseverance than their peers. Despite these advantages, children will soon be disappointed about unfulfilled results, and sometimes they seem to neglect what else matters to their goals. Firstly, when children realize that they cannot make any further progress regardless of their expenditure on work, they are likely to feel completely disheartened, which undermines their confidence and self-esteem. Secondly, an overemphasis on final results can lead to the underestimation of other factors that are partly essential for the achievement such as well-being, social relationships, or leisure pursuits. For instance, students who strive to have good academic performance tend to skip meals to spend more time studying, and this can lead to stomachaches that distract them from focusing on their studies. In conclusion, incentivizing minors to try hard to reach their objectives can be advantageous if it allows them to be more resolute and mentally developed. However, they should be told not to have unrealistic expectations and should consider success’s possible components.