As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that employment is not only about how to make money, it should have an impact on the community. I disagree with this statement because the main objective of the business is to create profit as much as possible and businesses cannot be burdened by society’s responsibility because it is the responsibility of the state. The success parameter of any business is related to how much profit can be achieved. Not all businesses can have a positive impact on the social community and it is the responsibility of the government to have a positive impact on the public through the regulations they make. For example, in Indonesia, the cigarette trade has a more negative impact on society but their stock value is always higher compared to other businesses. Every employment activity already pays tax to the authorities, and it is the obligation of the government to allocate the tax to the programs that have a social impact on the people because the government has a duty to improve the welfare of their people. For instance, Indonesia has a minister called the Ministry of Social Affairs who has the duty to distribute the funds from the state to help the community to increase their standard of living. In conclusion, I believe that businesses should not required to have a responsibility towards society because the main purpose of businesses is to create profit as much as possible in order to make their businesses run well and it is the main responsibility of the government to take this kind of responsibility.