In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. •What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? •* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is 'to play truant from school.'

Study is an indispensable part of children ’s lives albeit many nations have been experiencing a huge rise in the truancy problem. The main reasons behind this phenomenon are the communication gap between parents and children and the insufficient qualifications and experiences of teachers. This essay will meticulously elaborate on these causes and effects related to children and society in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, why is the truancy increasing has numerous reasons. Primarily, an increase in this issue can easily be seen where there is a conversational gap between guardians and their offspring. For example, a painstaking survey conducted by the Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 published that no sooner did the interaction time between parents and children decrease than a 25% increase in the truancy issue was observed in the UK only. This is because the parents are working to deal with financial issues so they have less time to listen and talk with children, in such a state, kids become perplexed and try to isolate themselves. In addition, when teachers do not have enough ability to deal with children ’s issues and instead of friendly way, they choose to behave strictly with them, it indeed decreases their presence in the school and a fear of studying in their mind. Thus, these can be considered as the main culprits behind this problem. The increased truancy problem has many effects on both children and society as a whole. To start with children, it has an inverse relationship with grades as the issue rapidly increases, their grades will decrease at an identical rate. To illustrate, the World Education Society, a UK-based department, submitted in their annual report in March 2017 that 7 out of 10 students had been facing failure in their examinations since they were mostly absent from their schools. It is clear that when students do not attend class and waste their time somewhere else, they may not understand the difficult concepts and topics and they are to face grade issues or failure at the end. Furthermore, once students start performing bad in their studies, their chances for a handsome salary job will be vanished. In such a state, they may have to face financial issues or unemployment in the future, which can make them choose and indulge themselves in criminal activities like robbing and stealing things. Hence, it will imbalance the society at a great deal due to the dire consequences, it may become obstacles in the way to make a good citizen. To conclude, the adverse effects of truancy like a decrease in the academic performance and future job possibilities can never be undermined. Therefore, though it is increasing at a high rate, it must be resolved timely.