Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Young people, children in particular, have become more and more obsessed with their mobile phones. The trend, which is an inevitable outcome of multifaceted factors, can be harmful to both individuals and society. There are multiple contributors to the rising proportion of time spent on electronic devices by teenagers. Firstly, the affordability and accessibility of a smartphone add up to the convenience of visiting the internet. The increasing demands of connecting friends and forming new relationships also make phones more indispensable to youngsters. Secondly, suffering from growing pressure and stress from home and school, many kids appear to use their phones as an asylum to temporarily escape the real world. Finally, parents now cannot supervise and overlook how children use smart devices since adults need to allocate more time to work. Consequently, with lax regulations and more luring contents, the soaring screen time among the younger generation seems unavoidable. The shift may have already caused huge damage and will be more disastrous if it continues to grow. According to many studies, using screens for long periods is associated with higher rates of depression, anxiety, and other mental health disorders in school age individuals. In other words, the supposedly beneficial technology has created an anxious and depressed generation, which can be viewed as a catastrophe for parents, schools, and society. Parents must spend their hard-earned money on therapy sessions to cure their mentally ill sons or daughters; schools find it more difficult to educate since phones can easily transform a young mind’s opinions; and society faces the conundrum of choosing between the profits generated by phone use and the glum future of an entire generation glued to screens. Therefore, if not addressed properly, the issue could fatally injure the sustainability of society. To summarise, many young people spend more time on digital technology for three major reasons: social demands, external pressure, and insufficient supervision. The phenomenon should be considered a threat to the hope of society as it can severely harm the mental stability of children.Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?