Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

with a startling pace of technological development, people started their journey and exploration in outer space. However, the large amount of governmental expenditure on such missions attracted criticism, opponents say that the money is definitely a waste. Personally, I disagree with the statement and this essay will give my reasons. To begin with, space exploration is the driving force of advanced technological development which has brought and will bring more benefits to people's daily lives. For example, access to various TV programmes, immediate telecommunications, and fast-speed Internet, all play an important role in our everyday lives, but without thousands of satellites successfully launched into space, people may not be able to have such an enjoyable modern life. Moreover, journeys in outer space may lead us to yet unknown possibilities which may also contribute to our lives such as finding new energy and alternative habitats for humankind. In fact, solar energy is a perfect example to show as a fruit of astronautic research development which also generated great economic returns globally. Furthermore, the investment in space exploration may inspire the young generation of a nation, and also enhance national pride. It will always be recorded in history that, in 1957, the first satellite was launched successfully, and Amstrong, the American astronaut, moved the first human step on the moon. These exciting moments may motivate generation after generation to devote themselves to achieving greater success for their countries. Though people may be concerned that the large funding may affect the distribution of the government budget, space exploration will bring beneficial effects in the long run. To conclude, governments should not cut off the investment in space exploration as its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It brings people a more convenient and modernized life and contributes in a nation's technological and societal development as a whole.