Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. What serious problems has this caused and what should governments and individuals do to tackle these problems. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge

In the present day, it is obvious that most of the cities in already developed countries have become overpopulated. New York in the USA, London in the United Kingdom, Tokyo in Japan and Melbourne in Australia are some best examples of this. This situation has led to numerous problems. For instance, Tokyo is the most expensive city in the world with high living costs, which cannot be affordable to a normal person.it is very common to see high competition for jobs and higher salary scales around those big metropolis. community from all over the country even from the rural areas arrive in such big cities to obtain a better job as well as better facilities such as health, transport and infrastructure. Although People continuously come to big cities for a better lifestyle, now this process has led to numerous problems day by day. One of the critical problems around those big cities is traffic jam, which leads to a waste of time as well as money. Although the transport facilities have also developed around, they are not sufficient to facilitate the needs of big crowds. Furthermore, people tend to use private transport systems rather than public transport, which contributes to an increase in the number of vehicles on the roads. This problem can be prevented after enhancing the public transportation system and awarding the people through campaigns. Apart from that, Higher noise, air and water pollution near big cities is very common currently.For instance in the last year, it was estimated that Colombo and Kandy were the most air polluted city in Sri Lanka like Delhi In India, which can lead to respiratory problems among city dwellers.Good hygiene and waste disposal are one of the main issues apart from the above problems. Since huge crowds of people gather in one location such as flats, if there is no proper method to dispose of their waste it can lead to hygiene problems such as cholera, and typhoid very easily. Therefore it is essential to maintain proper maintain ace in such locations and people dwelling flats should have the responsibility to maintain the clean environment around. Otherwise spreading mosquitoes and stinky around their homes would be common.