Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is common for people to study in one country and then work in another. While some suggest that students need to stay in the nation where they received their education, like the majority, I believe everyone should have the liberty of choosing where they want to work and live. To begin with, supporters of the former viewpoint argue that the society where young people acquired their expertise is entitled to the ownership of these individuals, given the precious resources provided to them by society. This may be true in some cases; for example, in many developing countries, cultivating a professional doctor can be way more costly than in rich societies, and the exact person is usually expected to repay the government by working domestically. In this sense, it seems plausible for governments to make such a demand, asking potential experts to stay and serve their homelands. However, this requisition is inherently flawed and unrealistic in two aspects: it is against liberal and democratic values, and it is not the most effective way to develop society. First and foremost, prohibiting people from working in other countries is a severe violation of basic human rights and should not happen in any democratic society. Moreover, individuals are not robotic but emotional creatures. It is hard to imagine them being productive and efficient at unwanted occupations. That said, such an approach may cause relevant growth to stall and intensify the feeling of dissatisfaction among the public. Conversely, provided autonomy and freedom, one can be happier and more willing to devote themselves to their job. In short, any person should be able to choose employment freely. To conclude, although countries have seemingly reasonable excuses to limit students’ job alternatives, it might do more harm than good. Thus, everyone should be endorsed with the right to work in a different nation.