Some people think that increasing the cost of fuel is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are many causes leading to environmental problems in our world and some people believe that only increasing the cost of fossil fuels can address those issues. In my opinion, I slightly disagree with this idea and my reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, a number of environmental problems will remain the same even if the cost of fuel increases, and it is because we still have other issues. To explain this in greater detail, deforestation which is one of the major causes is still unsolved. Moreover, excessive use of non-biodegradables leads to waste burning and air pollution. For instance, a piece of news that I read last week said about a problem at the border of Myanmar, they had illegal deforestation to make resorts for some lawyers and a vast number of non-recycling litter in that area was also burnt making harmful haze spreading to neighbour countries. Additionally, another crucial reason to support my idea is the government. To elaborate further, there are many strict restrictions that have been set up to tackle environmental matters but the governments do not impose them. Furthermore, governments all around the world always ignore these natural problems and focus on other topics. For instance, in my community, after a year of filing a complaint to the government, telling them to utilise their power to bring down a factory that has illegally burned its debris at midnight, they still ignore our complaints. Overall, it is a fact that an increasing cost of fuel can depreciate environmental issues. From my point of view, there are several problems that still destroy the environment around the world.