Some people think that competition at work, at school or in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, many individuals claim that competition in work offices, at schools and in daily life is beneficial. Meanwhile, others suppose that instead of competing against each other, humans should learn to cooperate for a common goal. The following essay is going to discuss both these views and state why I support the former. On the one hand, competition provides positive results to an organization since it motivates people to give their best performance. This is due to the fact that, when working in a competitive environment, most people would have to work under tremendous peer pressure, thus encouraging them to work more diligently to compete with their co-workers. Moreover, competition is often linked to incentives and bonuses, hence, it could be a great source of motivation for individuals to work harder to earn more money and get a promotion. For example, an incentive policy which indicates that the best employee of the year is going to get promoted to the head of department will elevate the result of the whole company since people would strive for this opportunity. On the other hand, cooperation could help employees improve their soft skills. Simply put, when working in a group, individuals need to learn how to cooperate with others to ensure that their tasks are met with the expectations. In order to make that happen, employees need to improve their communication skills to avoid spreading excessive and misleading information, as well as learn about each other’s strengths, so that each person could offer their best effort to the common goal. For instance, a marketing team could create the most captivating advertisement when every member of the team is well informed of their job requirements. In conclusion, while cooperation could improve a person’s soft skills, I believe competition is beneficial for an organization since it could make the most well-performed person stand out, and ensure that they are rewarded according to their efforts.