Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

Ostensibly, the worrisome condition of rapidly increasing waste has been observed by a section of society and environmental degradation and health issues are the major problems caused by this whereas a ban on online discount offers and a circular economy can be helpful for short and long-term respectively. This essay will delve deeper into these problems and their solutions in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are myriads of problems associated with the increased debris. Foremost, the degradation of the environment is the primary issue as the waste product can harm the atmosphere enormously. For example, a painstaking survey conducted by the Guardian Newspaper in March 2015, published that when 15% of domestic waste had been increased in the UK, it directly affected the air quality index with 50-60 points. This is because the individuals have no knowledge of disposing of waste adequately, which can cause harmful gases in the air and eventually can raise the chances of acid rain. Furthermore, if any case such waste materials mix up with water and air, people may have to face the dire consequences of kidney failure, breathing issues and digestive system issues. Thus, this phenomenon has numerous problems causing negative impacts on both humans and the environment. Having said that, these problems can be resolved by taking short and long-term measures. Primarily, a ban on websites offering huge discounts on food and other essentials can be a short-term solution. To exemplify, the Environmental Department of the UK, submitted in its annual report for March 2016 that no sooner did the country issue a ban on buy one get one free offer over 20 famous food and marketing websites than a 15% decrease in the waste products was observed in a year. Once such policies can be issued, it can lower the quantity of junk material in a very short time and people may have to think twice before purchasing and throwing things. In addition, for a long term, a circular market can be very beneficial where manufacturers and people both acquire the prowess of how to reuse things well. If every person in society is aware of the reduce, reuse and recycle rules, it will definitely help to curb this issue. To conclude, although the environment and human health both are in danger because of increased waste material, these can be tackled by putting restrictions on online deals and creating an economy with a circulation of waste materials.