Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions . Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is common for community to believe that the advent of technology is eliminating the main functions of traditional libraries. Although I accept that the development of automation has a lot of influence on people's reading habits, I disagree with the idea that these could replace public libraries. On the one hand, the application of technology to reading has lots of benefits for the public. Granted, online libraries provide convenience for readers. This is because, while customers of conventional libraries need to move there to use resources, virtual library users can have access to any kind of information at any time. For instance, a large number of students use their technology devices like laptops to access the internet and read electronic books (e- books), even printing these into books, instead of visiting local libraries and reference documents. On the other hand, there are also good grounds to agree that many functions of public libraries would become redundant due to the advent of virtual libraries. Firstly, traditional libraries are not only places for borrowing and lending books, but they also serve many purposes. This is exemplified by libraries providing a peaceful and scholarly ambience of the library that supports people's focus on reading or learning. Secondly, some rare books and special resources are not likely to be available in digital format and conventional libraries are those which possess these special materials. Nonetheless, there are several popular e-book pages that allow users to consume these resources only when they pay a fee. Naturally, very few people make that trade. In conclusion, though there are some advantages of using technology to help people's reading, I believe that keeping traditional libraries is not a waste of financial resources thanks to their functions with the general public.