The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Many communities believe that the major purpose of science should be to improve human lives in order to increase the level of living for all people around the world. I partly agree with this statement since nature should also receive some benefit from science. First of all, it is clear that people's current well-being is already the consequence of many research and scientific actions. In other words, almost all aspects that positively affected individual lives in recent years are connected with the technical sides of humanity's progress such as advanced medicine and developed environment. For instance, many dangerous situations like COVID-19 were eliminated due to the impact of many scientists and doctors around the world. Additionally, nowadays, the absolute majority of ubiquitous gadgets and facilities were also invented by accurate disciplines. However, at present, nature should be treated equally because of many ecological problems such as global warming, flora and fauna population issues and other alarming sides of the general ecosystem. This is mostly because of the fact that human lives deeply depend on Earth so without a healthy ecosystem people would suffer from the dearth of necessary products and other things. Hence, different scientists should also aim to save our planet instead of only focusing on humans. To illustrate, in the 21st century, an essentially dangerous virus infected coffee plants and almost led to the extinction of some species, fortunately, the group of specially educated doctors successfully tackled this problem. To conclude, it is obviously important to concentrate on facilitating nation's well-being as it is important for the quality of human being. Nevertheless, the community should not forget about the environment as it is an important part of the planet.