The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the increasing rates of deaths caused by traffic accidents, many people believe that only by implementing stricter traffic laws can the safety of our roads be improved. However, in this essay, I will challenge this school of thought. Granted, stricter punishments for traffic violations may improve road safety to a certain extent. For example, those found running the red lights, driving recklessly or speeding would have to pay hefty fines: and those found driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs would have their driving license suspended or even be sentenced to jail. These punitive measures may deter road users from committing traffic offences, leading to fewer accidents. However, this only works if people are made aware of these changes This requires a more fundamental approach, which is to make people apprised/ cognizant of traffic laws in the first place This can be done by making driving tests harder both written and drive tests must be more difficult so that only those knowing how to drive safely are allowed on the roads. People should also be required to retake driving tests once every two years to reinforce their understanding of traffic laws and learn about the new regulations in effect. These steps would even render imposing harsher punishments unnecessary, given how severe most punishments for traffic offences already are. Furthermore, to say that more stringent punishments are key to enhancing road safety is to ignore environmental factors causing traffic accidents. Evidence indicates that an overwhelming number of tragic deaths are caused by subpar roads, blind spots or insufficient numbers of road signs. Therefore, road safety can certainly be improved by repairing potholes or widening narrow roads, removing objects or overgrown plants that hinder drivers’ sight, and setting up more road signs. In conclusion, enforcing stricter punishments for driving offences may work to a certain degree but is by no means the only way to improve the safety of road users. Other equally important measures include forcing people to undergo more training and demonstrate sufficient understanding of accepted behaviours on the roads before they are allowed to drive and improving road conditions.