In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more and more citizens tend to focus on individualism by only concentrating on their personal growth and passions, leaving behind collective interests. From my point of view, this phenomenon has both benefits and drawbacks; however, I am strongly convinced that it is more disadvantageous. It is obvious that fostering personal development has a positive impact on several areas. Firstly, people can pursue their desires and achieve success in their chosen fields. Teenagers are a good example of this issue. During their university admission process, they will perform a higher level of effort; hence, they enhance their ability and personal satisfaction. Furthermore, when humans have apparent goals, they are more responsible for their decisions. Especially, if their lives are chaotic, instead of being in panic situations, they are able to focus again on their desires. As a result, they may become better versions. On the other hand, there are various negative effects of this matter. Individualism creates an imbalance between individuals and societies. Therefore, it lacks cooperation and support from others. Moreover, concentrating excessively on personal aims can contribute to inequality and social division. Especially, inefficient allocation of the human source is the worst consequence of this problem. In addition, the unemployment rate could be increased because of the large number of prestigious people around the world. It can also lead to disconnection among people and break lots of important bonds. In conclusion, while individualism and prioritizing personal passions can have some positive effects such as personal growth and offering innovation, the drawbacks outweigh. Therefore, it is indispensable to maintain a balance between own aims and collective interests as a whole.