In many countries, schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Although intractable schoolchildren can be found in most educational settings, the behaviour of school pupils in many parts of the world has worsened in recent years. This state of affairs can be attributed to several factors and this essay will suggest several viable solutions to remedy the situation. There are two main contributors to the way young people behave at school nowadays. Chief of these is that with modern parents becoming increasingly too busy or permissive, children often find it difficult to accept the demands of teachers or the limits imposed on them by school rules. For example, children who are used to negligence or indulgence are likely to show disruptive behaviour in class. Added to this is the fact that children are all too often influenced by the behaviour of celebrities. This can be seen in the way many teenagers think that success can be achieved without finishing school or trying to act, talk or wear the way their idols do. The problem of students misbehaving at school can be addressed in a number of ways. An immediate remedy is for parents to use reasonable punishments to demonstrate that actions have consequences when their children break the rules. These disciplinary techniques could range from depriving them of things that they treasure, such as their favourite toys or TV shows, to stop them from seeing their friends. In addition, famous people, such as musicians and football players, need to understand the responsibility that they have to act as good role models to children. This could be done by their managers, who need to make it abundantly clear to celebrities about how much influence they have on their fans. In conclusion, the causes of schools increasingly facing discipline problems are parents' leniency and famous people's behaviour, and the solutions lie in changing parents’ ways of disciplining their children and the participation of high-profile public figures.