“Children all over the world should learn to speak a single, universal language fluently in addition to their native language.” To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that being multilingual helps us to communicate with people of different cultures. Although some people believe that youngsters should be taught only one language i.e their mother tongue, I would argue that they should learn one global language as well. Learning a universal language can facilitate better communication and understanding between people from different backgrounds. For instance, when a Hindi-speaking student starts to learn English, he will do that by reading books, travelling to new places, and talking to people which will make him aware of the lifestyle of other people. This will help a child to be cognizant of other's perspectives. As a result, there will be less discrimination and more unity. Due to globalization, it is now mandatory to be atleast bilingual. The advantage of that is it will open doors to more opportunities. Young girls and boys can have better access to educational resources and the global job market, which will boost their career prospects. For example, if one is planning to get settled in Canada or the US, then they should pass an exam called IELTS, which will test their knowledge of English. But, all this doesn't mean we should give less importance to the native languages, which are key to preserving cultural identity and heritage. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that one should always acquire a knowledge of a language other than their mother tongue as this will aid them in their overall growth. But, they should also not forget their own roots and culture which is equally crucial.