Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Many countries are encouraging tourists to visit their countries. Although an increase in tourist numbers could pollute the country, I believe that tourism can improve the economic state of a nation and also spread knowledge about the country to the rest of the world. On the one hand, tourism can lead to pollution of the areas that they cluster in groups. Since many countries do not have strong policies against tourists, many of them take it for granted and litter the surroundings without a concern. For example, a beach in the eastern side of Sri Lanka lost its pristine beauty after being dirtied by foreign travellers. However, this is a fixable problem; the government can impose sanitary laws or do regular cleans. On the other hand, economy of nations flourishes because of the increase in number of tourists. That is to say that people spend a lot of money in the country and fuel the economy. Many countries like Dubai and Sri Lanka are heavily dependent on foreign visitors, because of the influx of the money they bring to the country. In addition, tourism promotes the values of the country to the whole world. When foreign dwellers go to a country they not only perform leisure activities but also experience the culture the nation has to provide. They post pictures and share experiences of the local culture to their family and friends. In conclusion, the disadvantage of tourists polluting the country is outweighed by the increase in financial support tourism brings and the fact that it educates other countries about its national attributes.