In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In an ever-progressive society, there is a trend towards using public parks and open spaces for local residents to grow fruit and vegetables. This situation contains a lot of impacts that outweigh its benefits to society. Central to this situation is the difficulties in separating land and managing the ways people use it. In other words, public places are areas controlled by the government and belong to the country, so it is hard to manage them equally and also causes many social problems or even breaks neighbourhood communication. Besides, in cities, fruit and vegetables are expensive goods so can attract thieves and also a place where people can throw litter impolitely. For instance, many cities allow dwellers to plant fruit and vegetables but need to close due to the problems it causes and change to plant trees or construct new places for exercising. Hence, using public places for planting is impossible. However, there are some people who believe that this can encourage people to consume healthy food. They argue that it is an opportunity for people to create their own small gardens in the urban areas that have little land but many residents live in. Perhaps, it is credible, but plant fruit requires large amounts of fertilizers that cause many problems and are toxic to the environment. Also, they can create their own spaces for planting by designing houses with large balconies or roots to plant fruit in the agricultural tubs like the way citizens in large cities such as Mumbai, Tokyo and Seoul do. In conclusion, utilizing public land for planting is hard to manage and toxic to the environment. Therefore, the impacts of this situation outweigh its benefits.