The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past century, science has proven to pivot human lives. While there is a debate over the primary goal of science, I strongly agree that it should indeed focus on improving the life quality of the upcoming generations. Science is essential to support health quality that will lengthen human life expectancies. The study should enhance medical treatment such as vaccine developments for infectious diseases and new medicines to treat serious illnesses. The effect of science utilization will reflect a lower mortality rate and longer human’s lifespan. For example, a century ago, people could not treat a simple fever resulting in early death, but now, the expeditious research is easily conducted to generate vaccines that saved billions of lives and doubled human’s age. Moreover, science can contribute to the search for renewable energy sources that will combat climate change and reduce pollution. The research in biodiversity helps to find alternative energy beside fossil fuels and protect the ecosystem from the negative impact of severe pollution. For example, it was hard to find a non-petrol car, however, nowadays it is easy to find hybrid vehicles that use solar or water as their energy source. If the whole nation shifts to cleaner energy sources, individuals can avoid further effects of global warming. In conclusion, I am convinced that the aim of science must be to improve the lives of human beings. Technology will definitely lead to better disease management and reduce mortality rate, and clean energy will reduce emissions - contributing to a healthier planet.