IN SOME CITIES PUBLIC PARKS ANF OPEN SPACES ARE BEING CHANGED INTO GARDENS WHERE LOCAL RESIDENTS CAN GROW THEIR OWN FRUIT AND VEGETABLES. DO THE ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH DISADVANTAGES?

It is believed that public parks and open spaces need to be replaced by gardens to grow fruit and vegetables. I believe that the drawbacks of this far outweigh the benefits. Admittedly, there are some advantages when more and more fresh fruit and vegetables are grown on land. One of them is the encouragement of consuming healthy food. When having more places for fruit and vegetables, residents have more options for each meal. This leads to a balanced diet, which effects directly to our health and helps people prevent issues such as cancer and obesity. For instance, Vietnam is one of the most developed countries in agriculture so citizens often buy fresh fruit and exercise to have a healthy lifestyle. Despite the benefits mentioned above, I believe that the downsides of the public park replacement are much greater. First of all, it can have an adverse impact on residents’ health. Going to the park is a good way to exercise, which creates more chances for those who want to improve their appearance. If these public parks are demolished, people will become more and more inactive and have sedentary lifestyles. Besides, citizens also do not have a place to unwind after a whole day of studying. Another explanation is that replacing these open spaces has a negative impact on business. These areas have development plans for the future, so this action makes the situation worse. Enterprises do not improve their finance, and they have to suffer from financial burdens. Besides, citizens do not have enough spaces to live which contribute to overpopulation. For example, Ho Chi Minh City has various open spaces which help people improve their lives. If these areas are replaced, people will have trouble making a living as well as a shortage of accommodation. In conclusion, although using land for growing fresh fruit and vegetables brings us some benefits, I am deeply convinced that this action does more harm than good in our daily life because of the above-mentioned reasons.