In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the minority of metropolitans, spaces in public are being utilized to build community gardens for inhabitants to grow their own plants. It is the opinion of this author that the benefit of protecting the environment is superior to the drawback of the lack of residence places. On the one hand, it is vital to acknowledge that replacing parks and public spaces with gardens can strongly protect the environment in cities. There is no doubt that air pollution in the cities caused by exhaust fumes is extremely serious and the plants can reduce it with hyper speed. However, almost all of the trees in metropolitans are being cut down for individual purposes; therefore, the atmosphere seems to be increasingly worse in the future, which will lead to a lot of respiratory problems such as lung cancer. According to the public gardening activity, governments and also billionaires indirectly encourage people to grow trees to protect the environment. On the other hand, replacing parks and spaces can lead to a lack of public residence places. To be specific, planting activities would occupy most of the space which used to be the cultural exchange spots and regular meetings. Consequently, local residents are no longer able to meet up with each other commonly which directly deteriorates the community. To conclude, utilizing spaces in public for gardens for citizens to grow their plants has their own advantages and disadvantages. However, the benefits of environmental protection outweigh the drawbacks of residence places lacking