In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, many large metropolises’ local parks and spaces are being replaced by open gardens where surrounding citizens can plant crops. It is the opinion of this writer that the benefits of providing green spaces and enhancing social relationships outweigh the drawbacks of pollution. It is vital to understand that plants can encourage our health. In other words, crops may absorb a huge amount of dust and carbon dioxide, which have a harmful effect on our health, to produce fresh air. Moreover, an increasing number of public gardens can reduce the status of global warming and offer more products for national agriculture. Taking Singapore as an example, more than ten open gardens had been established in each city which supplied this cleanest country with a variety of fresh fruits and also put the number of fumes at its lowest point. Another advantageous point worth considering is that public events can link various strange individuals and foster a sense of community. It must be understood that social action such as gardening may provide complicated tasks requiring teamwork skills that residents undergo to get on well with others and make relationships stronger. Take the USA, where public exercises like planting and growing plantations were encouraged to create more opportunities to associate with other citizens. Hence, this development plays a fundamental role in connecting distinctive people together. One of the disadvantageous impacts of public gardens is infection. It must be acknowledged that gardening enterprises require loads of techniques and materials such as fertilizers or toxicants. Indeed, because of affordable cost and high efficiency, many people use chemical fertilizers and pesticides for their trees. As a consequence, these chemicals are the main reason leading to environmental abuse, especially soil deterioration. Moreover, by using chemicals in growing movement, the products from these trees contain a significant amount of poison which can have seriously negative effects on consumers. For instance, nearly half of cancer patients in Vietnam come from eating foods containing pesticides. To sum up, although there are some cases in which fruits get polluted, public gardens can help people expand green space and develop their community. Additionally, open gardens also help us stop global warming.