People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Individuals born in new decades might experience longevity compared to the previous generations, which is due to the advancement of medical science, and it should certainly be seen as a negative incident because of an increasing number of older populations that we will have in coming years. On the one hand, medical science has had significant achievements during the past few decades. Advancements in field of diagnosis, discovering medications and treatments for many chronic diseases have been able to help patients to prevent their illnesses in initial stages or control them in case of being afflicted. A recent study found that people over 70 years old have shown optimism toward living longer. In fact, they believe that recent medical accomplishments will help them to have a longer life. However, the older population in the world is a serious issue that is happening and has made a lot of governments concerned. Unfortunately, aging generations will not be as productive as possible above the age of 70, which can lead to a workforce lack. Moreover, these senior citizens require higher costs for caregiving and treatment, which can cause governments to undergo huge amounts of expenses. In India, for instance, a remarkable amount of budget is being spent to cure and take care of elderly individuals, which has caused this country to confront serious issues handling other situations. In conclusion, after considering the above-mentioned points, although longevity has been extended due to several achievements in medical science, we cannot overlook its negative impacts and consequences in societies.