Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that poor life conditions and other issues that are related to society are the main causes for people to become criminals, however, I personally believe that people are born this way. On the one hand, many crimes happen in poor areas, and so do rich areas. In some poor areas such as slums people focus on their work and always try to make a better life, and crimes rarely happen. On the other hand, in some rich cities, take Los Angles for example, is one of the richest cities in the world but with one of the highest crime rate in the world. So, I think life conditions are not the main factor for individuals to become offenders. However, I believe that people that are born with mental illness are more likely to commit crimes and become criminals. Evidence of this can be seen in one family, some sisters and brothers might become lawyers or doctors while one of the siblings might become a criminal. This leads me to believe that it is not the environment that causes people to behave badly, some people are just born this way because of their personalities, characteristics, or mental illness. In conclusion, despite some people claiming that living circumstances are the main reason that causes crimes, however the statistics do not support this way of thinking. If it was true, there would be no crime in rich places, and crime would only be in poor areas. However, science does show that mental illness can cause people to behave antisocial and cause crimes, leading me to believe that criminals are born and not the product of the environment.