Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorcyle than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals presume that spending the budget on traffic infrastructure and private vehicles is more pivotal than on the transport for the community such as trains or buses. This writer strongly disagrees with this opinion due to the enormous benefits of public transit in terms of sustainability and equity. There is no doubt that public vehicles are more environmentally friendly than private ones, so they definitely play a crucial role in protecting surrounding habitats. In other words, when people utilize this community transport, the number of individual vehicles such as cars and motorbikes declines significantly; as a consequence, the fewer means of transit on the roads, the fewer emissions are released, especially carbon dioxide (CO2) which is considered as the main reason for clime change. Hence, more investment in public transport systems will enhance the quality of the atmosphere and tackle climate change all over the world. Another point for consideration is that using vehicles for citizens is more cost-effective than paying a fortune to own a car or motorcycle. Nowadays, a private vehicle usually costs roughly thousands of dollars which is prohibitively expensive for residents; as a result, utilizing buses or trams seems to be more affordable and accessible. With a few dollars per ticket, people are able to travel around their city and reach their expected destinations. Therefore, if public vehicle systems are developed in every area, it will help residents save money as well as enhance their lives. In conclusion, local authorities should invest more in the transportation for community which increases the quality of the environment and residents’ lives instead of roads and motorways with unnecessarily high costs.