Some poeople think it is more important to spend moeny on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that whether money should be invested in motorways and roads rather than on systems of public transport such as railways and trams. This writer disagrees with this statement because with more roads, there will be more negative effects on the environment, while with the development of local transport, there will be a range of benefits. It is evident that the emissions poured out of vehicles such as cars, trucks and motorbikes have contributed to the climate change throughout the world. With the expansion of roads, we are likely to offer new cars to drive and increase the amount of exhaust fume to the air. As a result, this has profound effect to the ozone layers which leads to some disastrous consequences, for example the global warming. Moreover, with the construction of new motorways, the government has to cut down trees, which capture carbon dioxide and transfer it into oxygen which help to reduce the air pollution, and accommodation not only have contribution to the biodiversity as they narrow the habitats for animals and plants but also do not accepted by citizens. However, developing public transport has lots of advantages. Firstly, with more trains, buses and subways, it could lessen the number of private vehicles. Consequently, purifying the air because there aren’t too much emissions poured out. Secondly, applying trains for trading products is another benefit should be considered. Irrefutably, there are two main ways of transporting goods are by planes and ships. If we add trains for delivering, it could be beneficial as it is cheaper than plane and faster than ships. In conclusion, extending public transport infrastructure could have variety of benefits compared with many drawbacks from enhancing roads and motorways.