Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways rather than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that money should be diverted to road infrastructures rather than public services. From my perspective, however, I contend that efficient communal transport systems can do wonders for a country in terms of environment and public relationship. Granted, one might argue that widened roads help solve air pollution. This is predicated on the assumption that larger roads pave the way for traffic flow and mitigate congestions during peak hours which are the chief culprit for poor air quality in metropolitans. However, the problem of air pollution can better be solved by investing in public transport that requires far fewer sums and efforts. This is because people would take a shift towards shared vehicles if they become readily available and convenient for the masses. By doing so, government could unravel traffic jams and handle air pollution thoroughly. The idea of ploughing money to public transport systems can be further strengthened by the effects it exerts on public relationship. In actuality, people can get to know and make friends with others if they are travelling on the same bus or tram. The corollary of this would be a better community where people are affable and always willing to lend a helping hand when others struggle. This is not the case when they use private cars as a means of transport because each individual sits separately in their own vehicle while commuting. Therefore, the more accessible public transport is, the closer citizens get together. To sum up, enhanced public services have positive effects on both environmental concerns as well as human relationship.