In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many countries, society who used to live in rural areas are now moving to metropolis. Even though many public argue that it is a positive development, I believe it is a negative development for the region. In this essay, I will discuss the effects of urban migration and the drawbacks it poses. Many communities want to live in a metropolis with more opportunities for their lives, but this causes overpopulation in cities. Overpopulation in cities is not a good sign because it will lead to many problems. Some problems that will arise include housing shortages, traffic congestion, and higher competition for jobs. In some metropolitan cities, the comparison between the land for house development and the population who live there is not balanced, it causes a higher price of the land, and with this effect, many people will become homeless in big cities. Not only that, the more people who live in the cities, the higher the cost of living will be. Furthermore, in rural areas, there will be a limited number of people who can take care of them, especially in terms of agriculture. Because some of the sources of food such as rice, vegetables, and fruits, are obtained in the countryside, if many people want to leave, it will be a problem and will have negative effects. It will affect the local economy and limit the food supply, therefore, creating a compound effect. In conclusion, although moving from rural areas to cities has some positive developments, it also causes problems for a long period of time. Therefore, governments must also be proactive in taking care of the countryside and ensuring the population in the cities and countryside is balanced.