(VMN)Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railway and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recently argued that there should be more investment on traffic infrastructure then the systems of public transport. Personally, the writer inclines towards the contrary as a way to reduce the quantity of vehicles on roads, which subsequently eases many problems such as congestion or in environmental terms. Nowadays, it is acknowledged that there are hundreds of traffic participants using their own car or motorbike to freely move around. This stems from various reasons, but mostly is because of their unpleasant experience when catching a bus or taking a train, which leads so a significant increase in private transport. Especially in Vietnam, for instance, where motorbikes dominate in the total of using vehicles, whereas the public transportation is less used than. As a result, there will be more potential of traffic congestion during the peak time as well as a noticeable number of accidents, even more roads are built up. Hence, if the public transport services are invested to be improved and renovated, this might encourage more people to use public transport frequently, indirectly decreasing those existing problems. Another aspect worth mentioning when it comes to reducing the number of cars and motorbikes is about environment. Vehicles are the major factor of greenhouse effect when a car or a motorbike can give off a big amount of carbonic after travelling within a relatively short distance. What needs concerning is that in these years, more and more vehicles are bought and used, leading to an enormous amount of carbon dioxide emitted into the atmosphere annually. This results in not only global warming but also air pollution, and badly affects to human health. Calling the majority of people to attend public trains or trams is a practical solution to minimize the troubles. Therefore, the transport publicly used should be prioritized. Taking all points into account, spending on public services’ improvement is likely to solve a wide abundance of problems existing, rather than paying for development in motorways and roads. The writer, thus, tends to approve the opposite site of the statement.