Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

It is said that the role of investing budgets in roads and motorways is more crucial than improvements in public transport such as railways and trams. The writer of this essay disagrees with this viewpoint because of the high amount of pollutants. First and foremost, private vehicles are becoming increasingly popular with people around the globe. This can easily lead to congestion and road capacity, which create other issues such as pollution and reduction in air quality so refurbishing roads and motorways is a solution to solve these problems. Furthermore, developing a private transport system will enhance citizens' safety and avoid many risks to their lives. Finally, the money will be more valuable when it is mainly utilized to serve local residents. Take the Chinese as a prime example. They tried to convince their government to develop road infrastructure because it leads to highway congestion that takes many days to end during holidays or weekends. However, the government should subsidize public transport systems such as railways and trams. In other words, better public transport will reduce pollutants because the number of private vehicles will be reduced. As a result, it will emit fewer greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide, which is the chief reason for destroying ozone layers. Furthermore, more and more public transport can improve air quality and stop global warming. Finally, residents can save much money on fuel and reparation. In conclusion, the government should encourage inhabitants to use more public vehicles because they are reasonably priced and eco-friendly.