While some suggest the best way to combat climate change is by having a carbon tax on large corporations’ activities, others think that individuals paying tax on their own carbon footprints will have a greater impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To tackle climate change some think that carbon tax should be levied on big companies' projects. Others suggest taxing a person's carbon footprint is a better approach. While individual taxes are a good idea for generating awareness, I believe carbon -taxing multinational institutions make more sense because they pollute our environment the most. Levying carbon duties on individual purchases is one way to fight the effect of climatic irregularities. More people knowingly or unknowingly are contributing to the cause. This further sheds light on the global issue, which is being increasingly ignored. The growing popularity in itself will ensure that others grow increasingly conscious, and in turn, limit their carbon expenditure. For example, India has introduced a policy of tax benefits on interest on every loan taken against the purchase of an electric vehicle. Through this move, the country has seen a significant price uptick in eco-friendly cars and bikes. However, I believe this is not enough, instead, large organizations should be taxed heavily on their carbon exhaustions. Large companies require a great amount of energy to run. This energy is produced by the burning of non-renewable energy sources, which has disastrous consequences on nature. If we can stop this from happening, and ensure that they turn to renewable energies, then most of our work would be done. For instance, if regulatory authorities tax the industries running on thermal powerplants, in that case, their cost per unit also increases, thereby bringing down profits. The moment this is caught in their P&L statements, they'll eventually look for economic alternatives. This is why, I believe that the key to combatting sudden floods, tsunamis, droughts, wildfires etc is by placing these agents of pollution under carbon duties. In conclusion, introducing tariffs on MNCs for every carbon expenditure should be adopted. And the idea of this to be done on an individual level is flawed.