In many countries, parents are deciding to have children later in their lives. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, it was common for couples to settle down and have children in their early twenties. Nowadays, many are waiting until their thirties or later to start a family. Despite potentially being more difficult to form close relationships with their children, I would argue that having children at a later age is more advantageous as parents tend to be more financially and emotionally prepared to start a family. Those who argue the disadvantages of having children later in life point to the benefits of having youthful parents. It is often easier for children to have closer relationships with parents who are not too distant in age. This is true on a psychological and physical level: psychologically, younger parents are more likely to have shared interests while physically, younger parents have more energy for playing games and sports with their children. Hence, in the interest of having a closer relationship with their children, many parents choose to have children earlier. However, I would argue that there are more advantages to having children later in life. Firstly, mature parents are usually in a better financial position and are therefore better able to cater to their child's needs: schooling, excursions, activities, etc. In contrast, younger parents are less likely to be established in their careers and may not have the financial means to provide for their children. Secondly, older parents are also usually more emotionally stable and wise. This creates a more steady and peaceful upbringing for their offspring, as well as a store of knowledge and wisdom, which can be used to guide their children. The better prepared the parents are, the easier it will be to raise a family. To conclude, while I acknowledge that having children earlier has certain advantages in terms of physical and psychological bonding, I would argue that, because of the financial and emotional stability that older parents have, the advantages of having children later in life outweigh the disadvantages.