Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Longer prison sentences are believed to be an effective method to reduce the number of crimes happening in society, whereas others argue that there is another way to decline the cases. In this essay, I will explain both of the opinions and discuss my own perspective. Long-time punishment could be a powerful way to decrease violations because the prisoners do not roam around the cities at the moment. Hence, people and victims will be at ease during the sentence period. A criminal tends to perform their act again because they want to take revenge, that's why police usually notice the victim if the release date has come closer. For example, just like in the movie, criminals could be stronger and join a gang with other fellows to execute attacks. Because of that, people think that the judges should give an equitable penalty to each type of violation based on how adverse and severe the impact on society, the more critical, the longer. On the other hand, some part of the public opine that dependency on time attribute distinctively will not work to push down the crime rate. They prefer prevention action and heavier punishment. For instance, the police could increase their resources, technologies, and patrol times to avoid any illegal actions in the towns. Other than that, heavy punishment such as death sentence for terrorists and murderers, a hundred million dollar fine for pickpockets and thieves, and zero chance of criminals to back into society. In my opinion, both of the views could be implemented together to be more potent, since I believe that criminality is difficult to be cured and they will not resent their behaviours. In conclusion, extended criminal sentences will help the victim feel safe and prevent any vicious cases happen after they have released. Nevertheless, it could be supported by prevention action and heavier punishment suggested by the public that does not believe in time. Both of them could run simultaneously to bring a safer environment and decline the crime rate.