Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

There is growing competition among old and young workers for the same positions. This situation can result in a series of problems in the workplace, and it needs to be addressed decisively by job providers and the government. The fact that an increasing number of old people are in competition with young people for the same vacancies can create several problems. Competition, whether in the workplace or personal life, often leads to tension and conflict, taking a toll on the mental and physical well-being of both old and young people. Disputes over job roles cause stress, anxiety, and low energy levels, especially among old people, reflecting poorly on their productivity. Besides, disputes between senior and young workers lead to loss of mutual respect. When old people receive harsh treatment from their young counterparts over their job, they feel disregarded and alienated, which is followed by social isolation and loneliness. These negative experiences undermine the life quality of old people, possibly shortening their longevity. Understanding the negative impacts of workplace competition between two generations, employers and the government should take measures to mitigate it. One measure is to establish job quotas for each age group, dividing vacancies between older and younger applicants based on age demographics in the job market. This would ensure secure employment for the elderly without inter-generational conflicts in the workplace. Alternatively, the government should allot subsidies to businesses as well as public-sector companies so as to create more vacancies to meet the growing labor supply. Since stiff competition in the workplace is usually the result of limited job opportunities, it seems sensible if more state-funded projects and subsidies aimed at creating more chances for employment are available. In conclusion, while the phenomenon of growing competition between old and young generations in the labor market can give rise to mutual animosity and disrespect, some steps to tackle this issue would be rationing job positions according to age and facilitating more job vacancies through government-funded campaigns.