In many towns and cities, large shopping malls are replacing small local shops. Do you think this is a positive development? Give your reasons and examples.

Small local shops in many towns and cities are being displaced by the existent of huge shopping malls. Personally, I would say that this phenomenon is a form of negative development that commonly occured in urban area and I will explain it more in the next paragraphs. Some might think that huge shopping malls are a great sign of development because it can give more revenues and benefits to the city, but this is not entirely true. Shopping malls are usually owned by a private company or developer that focused on profits. To gain more profits, The obvious way is to eliminate the competitors, which is the small local shops, and attract their customers to come to these shopping malls. If there are no strong regulations and law enforcement in that city, these developers can monopolize all customers and opportunities by sabotaging the small local shops. The term for this phenomenon is known as gentrification. For example, developer or company can partially or fully restrict access in the city where small local shops are located, so people are more attracted to go to the shopping malls rather than the small shops. This will affects the income of these local shops negatively and will make them bankrupt on the long run. Because of this impact, it will lead to high numbers of unemployment and poverty in that city. Besides the negative impacts on economy aspect, huge shopping malls are also harming the environment. Due to the large size, it is clear that the construction of shopping malls is requiring a large empty area in the city. The so-called empty area is usually a green space that is needed for many species to live. This means a huge deforestation must be happened for the construction of a shopping mall. Now imagine if there are a high numbers of shopping malls in a city, it will make the city dry and barren because the lacks of green space. Typically, shopping malls are more car-centric compared to the small local shops that can be reached by walking. It will leads to traffic problems that also contribute to the global warming and harm the environment. In conclusion, the existent of huge shopping malls give more negative impacts for the development of a city or town. Economic wise, It will affects the income of small local shops negatively and can leads to the increase of unemployment and poverty number in that city. Moreover, the construction of large shopping malls is also harming the environment and contributes to the global warming.