Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some proponents insist that many needless products are sold through seductive advertising and emphasizing unessential functions and performance, and this generates plenty of waste for society. However, the counter-argument stance opines that advertisements provide more useful choices with diverse commodities suited to a variety of consumers. I am convinced that retail marketing brings more benefits and I agree with the latter opinion. To begin with, it is advisable that advertising provides more information on items for target clients, and this meets almost all consumers’ demands. Firstly, the foremost benefit for customers from absorbing these advertising campaigns, they help them save time and money by informing them about real bargains. For example, workaholics and shopaholics can update the newly launched product line with some additional advanced functions and acquire some promotion events to own their preferential products at lower prices. Secondly, users can compare functions, appearance, price, customer service and guarantee policy through advertising competitive campaigns of manufacturers by outstanding themselves in all above. Hence, these competitive advertisement activities, which were represented on catalogues and brochures, help consumers choose their satisfactory items among many available productions. Consequently, these marketing initiatives will improve the customers ' lives by maximizing their received satisfaction and can choose suitable stocks instead of buying extra commodities or replacing the new ones for their previous items. Nevertheless, retail marketing creates consumerism, where purchasers pay attention to a perfect commodity. In particular, many crazy fans, such as camera users, replace their product with the latest product in just published series in a marketing campaign. Furthermore, the ultimate aim of advertising is to subtly persuade people to buy things, so advertisers attempt to provide many unnecessary features, such as extra performance, with visually appealing content to catch their customers ' attention. For instance, take the iPhone as an example, by exaggerating some new functions and emphasizing more about some unessential index relevant to performance. Indeed, most iPhone customers said that some additional features which they did not use more than three times since buying their phone including the macro photograph function. To conclude, it is advisable that advertising generates many benefits for the ordinary consumer, despite some detrimental influences on the environment by generating more customer rubbish. From my perspective, it is a positive step and this drawback can be alleviated by controlling their impulse buying for needless commodities.