Some people think that children should only read academic book. Other believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought by some people that young people should just read academic books while others believe books that make them feel satisfied are also equally important. In the essay, both viewpoints will be outlined before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, there are several perks that reading only academic books offers to those new generations and one of the most essential is their bright future. To explain in greater detail, these books give tons of knowledge make them grasp a wide range of different subjects and skills. Furthermore, it is obvious that children will be able to utilise their knowledge and apply or adapt it in their future lives. For example, my cousin has been a bookworm since she was a girl, reading only academic-related books or lectures. As a result, now she is only 25 years old and becomes a team leader and manager in a well known financial company in Thailand; besides, her subordinates respect her because of her knowledge and skills such as problem solving, resourcefulness, etc. On the other hand, there is a clear upside of reading other genres of books and the most crucial is entertainment. To elaborate further, these books can improve their creativity, one of the skills that youngsters these days lacks. Moreover, leisure books can be considered as an outlet for their stress and depression from learning. For instance, when I was a child, I had to study 9-10 hours a day which provided me with a lot of stress. Thus, the only way that I can indulge myself at that time is my comic books and fantasy novels which would disconnect me from those academic subjects and help me to use my creativity and imagination to think along with their plots. Overall, it is a fact that academic and leisure books give children both merits and demerits. However, from my point of view, allowing our offspring to read both of them will benefit them more than force them to read only one kind as it will help them to get more knowledge and enhance their creativity to use in the future.