The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, as society rapidly transitions to the digital era, cybercrime has become a serious problem. I partly agree that the government should control the internet. However, there are some issues to consider besides its negative effects. On the one hand, there are some grounds to support the view that controlling the internet has several primary drawbacks. Firstly, the internet is an open platform that everyone can use freely. When the government starts to control websites or personal internet platforms, people might feel that their privacy is being invaded. For instance, in some countries, where online regulations have already been implemented, it has led to over-regulation. Even though reducing cybercrime was their main purpose, it might bring other concerning problems to the public. On the other hand, I believe that we need some regulations to reduce serious internet -related crimes. To begin with, a great number of people use the internet every day, and it has become one of the biggest parts of our lives. In general, most people post their daily activities on social media or save their personal information, such as bank account passwords, home addresses, and mobile phone numbers, online. These facts make people more vulnerable to various cybercrimes. I suggest that the government play a crucial role in protecting citizens' personal information. For example, the government should monitor suspicious internet activities and run campaigns to increase people's awareness of cybercrime. Therefore, controlling internet activity can help ensure internet safety. In conclusion, it is not a clear-cut issue as there are pros and cons to both sides. Although controlling and regulating the internet has significant disadvantages, people need laws to protect them, especially as the internet environment is rapidly expanding. This will be a better option in the long term.