Many people strive to maintain a successful career and happy family life at the same time. What problems can this situation create? What are the possible solutions?

Some people seek for perfect work and personal life balance. However, reality of their job situation does not let them meet the goal set by them. There are a plethora of problems that cause this issue and certain solutions have to be implemented to avoid this issue. To begin with, the extreme working hours and irregular shifts could cause problems in the life of employees. To exemplify, mostly nurses do not have fixed shifts, their duty keep on rotating from morning to night shift to tackle the problem of staff shortage. Because, there is unavailability of nursing staff, hospitals try to manage the duty by offering extra hours to the current employees. A recent study has provided a clue that due to such an infrequent style of job, their divorce rates are very high. So, it can be difficult to maintain balance with such types of jobs. In contrast, families should spend leisure time together such as planning a trip to international countries which could reduce the isolation happening due to the straining work schedule. Thus, a sense of belonging could help bring people close to each other and decrease the friction. For example, a study shows that people who take a week off from work in a year for a vacation are happier and productive throughout the year than the one's who have not. Ergo, creating memories with family helps a lot to steer through the difficulties of life. In conclusion, extended working hours could affect people personally as well as at a family level. Although, spending quality time with one's family could help a lot to bring down the stress. Hence, work-life balance seems an ideal solution for people and a multitude of creative methods should be implemented to achieve this goal.